Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.

The Illustrious Iota Lambda Chapter 




University of Florida


The Incorporators 

Nellie Quander was elected president in 1911. Under her visionary leadership, Alpha Kappa Alpha initiated a dynamic plan of expansion. The first step of establishing a national body in perpetuity was taken in 1913 when Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority was legally incorporated. Norma Boyd, Julia Brooks, Ethel Jones Mowbray, Nellie Quander, Nellie Pratt Russell and Minnie Smith



The first and the finest. 

With the exception of Ethel Hedgeman Lyle, tthe original group of nine women were comprised of seniors who came together to form Alpha Kappa Alpha. These women were the scholastic leaders of their classes and each of them had a special talent or gift that further enhanced the potential of the group. Anna Easter Brown, Beulah Elizabeth Burke, Lillie Burke, Marjorie Hill, Margaret Flagg Holmes, Ethel Hedgeman Lyle, Lavinia Norman, Lucy Diggs Slowe and Marie Woolfolk Taylor.

The Original Nine 

To ensure the continuity of the organization, seven Class of 1910 honor students who had expressed interest were invited to join without initiation. Joanna Berry Shields, Norma Elizabeth Boyd, Ethel Jones Mowbray, Sarah Meriweather Nutter, Alice Porter Murray, Carrie Snowden and Harriet Josephine Terry. 

The Sophomores 

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. was founded on the campus of Howard University in Washington D.C on January 15,1908. She is the first black Greek-lettered sorority established by twenty trailblazing women at a time of scarce opportunity for African Americans, and particularly African American women. Incorporated on January 29, 1913, the sorority has served as a pillar to the community, serving through her three founding principles – sisterhood, scholarship, and service. Through these principles, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. continues to empower women and exemplify change, advancing the vision of service to all mankind.  


This website is created and hosted by's Site Builder.